All Posts By

Melanie

Projets étudiants : financement disponible

By | Nouvelles, Opportunités de financement

La formation d’étudiant.e.s est importante pour le Partenariat canadien pour la justice internationale (PCJI). C’est pourquoi le PCJI finance à chaque année la participation d’étudiant.e.s à l’Assemblée des États Parties à la Cour pénale internationale, au Congrès annuel du Conseil canadien de droit international, à la compétition ICC Moot Court ainsi qu’à plusieurs autres activités et événements éducatifs.

Le PCJI encourage les étudiant.e.s dans leurs projets et peut leur offrir un soutien financier. Les étudiant.e.s peuvent demander du financement au PCJI notamment pour prendre part à une école d’été, participer à une compétition juridique, réaliser un stage, assister à une conférence ou s’impliquer dans tout événement professionnalisant. Les étudiant.e.s récipiendaires deviennent ainsi membres du groupe étudiant du Partenariat.

Le PCJI s’adapte aux circonstances actuelles en lien avec la pandémie de COVID-19. Tant que des restrictions à la mobilité seront maintenues, les activités en ligne données en dehors de l’établissement d’attache de l’étudiant seront admissibles à recevoir du financement.

Critères de sélection

La demande de financement est préparée par l’étudiant.e. Pour être présentée au Comité des bourses et du financement pour les étudiants, la demande doit satisfaire aux conditions suivantes :

  • la demande doit être soumise par un.e étudiant.e en droit international ou dans un domaine en lien avec le cadre de recherche du PCJI;
  • elle doit être suffisamment étayée pour permettre au Comité d’apprécier sa nature et son importance pour l’étudiant.e;
  • elle doit comprendre un plan détaillé du projet incluant, si possible, le programme de l’événement, une confirmation d’inscription et une estimation des dépenses admissibles;
  • elle doit expliquer le lien de l’étudiant.e avec le PCJI, le lien entre le projet et le cadre de recherche du PCJI, la nature du projet et les apprentissages attendus, la pertinence du projet par rapport au développement et buts de l’étudiant.e, et l’ampleur et finalité du financement antérieur sollicité et reçu du PCJI.

Exigences associées au financement

Les étudiant.e.s sélectionné.e.s pour recevoir du financement doivent respecter les exigences suivantes :

  • L’étudiant.e doit consentir, sauf exception justifiée, à l’utilisation et la diffusion par le PCJI de textes, de photos et d’autre matériel en lien avec le projet. Le PCJI accordera aux auteurs le crédit qui leur revient.
  • L’étudiant.e doit respecter les règles du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), soit l’organisation finançant le PCJI. Par exemple, ces règles ne permettent pas aux individus de recevoir une compensation pour les billets de blogue ou autres publications produits.
  • L’étudiant.e devra reconnaître le support financier du PCJI et du CRSH dans les billets de blogue produits ainsi qu’en d’autres situations pertinentes.
  • L’étudiant.e devra écrire un minimum d’un billet de blogue comportant de 1000 à 1500 mots, qui sera publié sur l’une ou l’autre des plateformes suivantes, au choix de l’étudiant.e : Quid Justitiae, IntLawGrrls, Justice in Conflictou le Global Justice Journalde l’Institut Philippe Kirsch. Le billet devra respecter les règles de mise en forme du blogue choisi. Le billet devra être écrit avant, pendant ou dans un délai raisonnable après la réalisation du projet.

Les dépenses suivantes sont admissibles[1] :

  • Inscription à l’activité en ligne.

En ce qui concerne les écoles d’été en ligne, les frais spécifiquement liés à l’obtention de crédits universitaires ne sont pas éligibles.

Critères de sélection des projets

Dans le choix des projets à financer, le Comité des bourses et du financement pour les étudiants considèrera les éléments suivants :

  • Lien entre le projet et le cadre de recherche du PCJI;
  • Nature du projet et de l’apprentissage retiré;
  • Pertinence du projet eu égard au cheminement de l’étudiant.e;
  • Lien de ou des étudiant.e.s avec le PCJI;
  • Ampleur et finalité du financement antérieur sollicité et reçu du PCJI.

Procédure pour soumettre un projet

Pour soumettre un projet, les étudiant.e.s doivent remplir le formulaire suivant.

Le Comité des bourses et du financement pour les étudiants se rencontre quatre fois l’an. Le Comité se rencontre aux dates suivantes à chaque année :

  • 1er novembre;
  • 1er février;
  • 1er mai*;
  • 1er août.

*La date limite pour le printemps 2020 a été reportée au 20 mai 2020.

Les résultats sont annoncés dans un délai d’un mois suivant la rencontre du Comité. Il est possible de soumettre un projet à tout moment dans l’année, mais les étudiant.e.s devraient garder en tête ces dates pour connaître le délai de traitement de leur demande.

Si la demande est acceptée, le Partenariat versera le financement approprié lorsque l’étudiant.e verra sa participation à l’événement confirmée (une confirmation d’inscription peut être requise) et à la condition que les dépenses sollicitées soient admissibles. Le Comité pourrait accepter de verser la totalité ou une partie du montant demandé. Le paiement pourrait être effectué en plusieurs versements.

[1] Une dépense est admissible lorsqu’elle respecte les règles administratives du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et de l’établissement hôte du PCJI, l’Université Laval (www.sf.ulaval.ca). Le PCJI pourrait refuser de rembourser une dépense qui n’est pas admissible ou qui devient inadmissible même si le PCJI a initialement accepté de financer le projet soumis. Il est de la responsabilité de l’étudiant.e de s’assurer en tout temps de l’admissibilité des dépenses envisagées. Il est fortement recommandé de faire préautoriser par le PCJI toutes les dépenses envisagées. Des informations supplémentaires peuvent être fournies sur demande.

19e Assemblée des États Parties à la Cour pénale internationale : Appel à candidatures

By | Événements à venir, Nouvelles, Nouvelles des étudiants

À chaque année entre 2016 et 2021, le Partenariat canadien pour la justice internationale (PCJI) met sur pied et finance une délégation d’étudiant.e.s canadien.ne.s qui, coordonnés par des chercheurs et des praticiens en provenance de diverses institutions et ONG, participent à l’Assemblée des États Parties (AÉP) à la Cour pénale internationale. Cet événement majeur a lieu à chaque année à New York ou à La Haye.

À travers cette activité, le Partenariat forme une cohorte d’étudiant.e.s éduqué.e.s, engagé.e.s et interconnecté.e.s en droit international et transnational tout en éduquant diverses audiences du Canada comme d’ailleurs quant aux défis, pièges et possibilités du système de justice internationale. Le PCJI contribue ainsi à rehausser le rôle du Canada comme leader mondial dans la lutte contre l’impunité.

La 19AÉP aura lieu du 7 au 17 décembre 2020. La formation de la délégation du PCJI s’échelonnera tout au long de l’année jusqu’à l’événement. Les étudiant.e.s sélectionné.e.s pourraient être invité.e.s à :

  • produire des rapports sur l’AÉP, ses événements parallèles et la participation du Canada en tant qu’État Partie tout en s’intéressant à des thèmes variés (ex. : crimes sexuels et basés sur le genre, complémentarité, coopération, élection, budget, etc.);
  • diffuser des informations en direct sur Twitter;
  • organiser des événements tels que des conférences au sein de leur institution;
  • écrire de courtes publications et des billets de blogue;
  • soutenir les partenaires du Partenariat dans la mise en œuvre de leur programme d’activités à l’AÉP;
  • établir des liens avec des professionnels travaillant en droit international pénal;
  • visiter des institutions internationales pertinentes.

Les candidatures pour la 19eAÉP sont acceptées jusqu’au 1er septembre 2020.

 

Conditions

  • Disponibilité dès maintenant et jusqu’à l’AÉP en décembre pour préparer la mission;
  • Disponibilité pour participer à l’AÉP;
  • Disponibilité pour effectuer des recherches ou des rapports en lien avec l’AÉP avant, pendant et après l’événement;
  • Pouvoir obtenir un visa (si nécessaire) et se déplacer aux États-Unis avant l’AÉP.

L’AÉP est une activité très exigeante. Les délégué.e.s travaillent de longues heures à tous les jours tout au long de l’événement. Il est donc fortement recommandé d’éviter les contraintes de toutes sortes durant ou peu après l’AÉP.

 

Critères d’évaluation des candidatures

  • Cycle d’études: la priorité est accordée aux étudiants de maîtrise ou des niveaux supérieurs;
  • Lien entre le ou la candidat.e et un membre ou organisation partenaire du PCJI;
  • Lien entre l’AÉP / la CPI et le domaine d’études, les buts professionnels et autres activités académiques ou scientifiques de l’étudiant.e;
  • Disponibilité pour préparer la mission, participer à l’AÉP et produire les rapports et publications s’y rapportant;
  • Aisance et qualité de l’écriture en anglais ou en français, le bilinguisme étant un atout;
  • La priorité est accordée aux candidat.e.s n’ayant jamais reçu de financement du PCJI par le passé.

 

Déposer une candidature

Votre candidature doit inclure:

  • votre CV;
  • votre relevé de notes;
  • une photocopie de passeport;
  • un billet de blogue ou autre dissertation juridique d’au moins 1000 mots en français ou en anglais;
  • une lettre de motivation expliquant en quoi votre candidature remplit les critères d’évaluation ci-haut. Vous êtes fortement invité.e.s à écrire quelques paragraphes de votre lettre de motivation en français si votre candidature est en anglais ou vice-versa.

Veuillez téléverser votre dossier de candidature et remplir le formulaire en ligne avant le 1er septembre 2020.

 

Pour toute information additionnelle, veuillez écrire à:

Érick Sullivan/Catherine Savard
Co-coordonnateurs du Partenariat canadien pour la justice internationale
internationaljustice.sshrc@gmail.com

École d’été 2020: « Justice internationale et les droits des victimes »

By | Événements à venir, Nouvelles

Du 1er juin au 6 juin 2020

C’est quoi? L’école d’été Justice internationale et droits des victimes rassemblera des experts de renommée internationale et des organisations de défense des droits de la personne afin de discuter et de réfléchir sur les questions relatives aux droits des victimes et à la justice internationale.

Ce cours vise à former et à mobiliser des étudiants et des professionnels dans les domaines du droit, de la criminologie et des disciplines connexes à des questions clés concernant les droits des victimes d’actes criminels et d’abus de pouvoir.

Les sujets abordés comprennent la réparation des victimes de crimes contre l’humanité, les besoins des victimes de violences sexuelles, le traitement des victimes-agresseurs par les tribunaux et la place des victimes dans la justice transitionnelle.

Pour qui? Le cours s’adresse aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs ainsi qu’aux professionnels intéressés, notamment aux avocats travaillant dans le domaine du droit pénal international.

Par qui? Titulaire du cours : Jo-Anne Wemmers (Université de Montréal). Conférences par : Fannie Lafontaine (Université Laval), Miriam Cohen (Université de Montréal), Isabelle Daignault (Université de Montréal), Myriam Denov (McGill University), Mark A. Drumbl (Washington and Lee University), Mylène Jaccoud (Université de Montréal), Amissi Manirabona (Université de Montréal), et Valerie Oosterveld (Western University).

Langue
L’école est bilingue (français-anglais). On s’attend à ce que les étudiants parlent couramment le français ou l’anglais et à ce qu’ils aient au moins une compréhensionpassive de l’autre langue. Les étudiants ont la possibilité de rédiger leur travail en français ou en anglais.

Inscription

Les inscriptions pour les étudiants crédités ouvriront le 9 mars 2020. Les autres participants peuvent s’inscrire dès maintenant.

Frais d’inscription

  • Employés gouvernementaux et entreprises: 1200$ CA
  • Grand public (salariés, retraités, travailleurs autonomes): 1000$ CA
  • OSBL et ONG: 500$ CA
  • Étudiants non crédités ou hors Québec: 475$ CA
  • Tarif à la journée: 350$ CA

Le PCJI offre trois bourses de 2000$ à un.e étudiant.e de maîtrise ou de doctorat d’une université affiliée afin de participer à l’école. Consultez le dépliant pour plus d’informations.

Contact : ismehen.melouka@umontreal.ca

Pour plus de renseignements sur le cours et les démarches d’inscription visitez le site : https://cerium.umontreal.ca/etudes

Au plaisir de vous voir à l’Université de Montréal en juin 2020 !

Le Partenariat finance les projets de 4 étudiant.e.s

By | Communiqués de presse, Nouvelles

Juin 2019 – Ce printemps, le Partenariat canadien pour la justice internationale (PCIJ) a lancé son nouveau programme de financement de projets étudiants. Ce programme vise à encourager et soutenir les étudiant.e.s dans leurs projets présentant un lien avec le programme de recherche du PCJI.

Plusieurs demandes ont été reçues pour le trimestre de printemps 2019. Tout en remerciant l’ensemble des candidat.e.s, le PCJI est heureux de divulguer l’identité des récipiendaires:

  • Azé Kerté Amoulgam, étudiant au doctorat en droit à l’Université Laval: 1000$ pour effectuer un stage de 6 mois au Bureau du Conseil Public pour la Défense de la Cour pénale internationale, à la Haye (Pays-Bas);
  • Jeremy Pizzi, étudiant au baccalauréat en droit à l’Université McGill: 1000$ pour un réaliser un stage de 15 semaines à la Section de première instance des Chambres de la Cour pénale internationale, à La Haye (Pays-Bas);
  • Sarah Douglas et Sophie Gagné, respectivement doctorante en droit à l’Université Dalhousie et étudiante à la maîtrise en droit à l’Université Laval: 250$ chacune pour participer au programme d’éducation sur le génocide Reflections on Rwanda, organisé par SHOUT Canada du 17 mai au 1er juin 2019.

Les candidatures ont été analysées par le Comité des bourses et du financement pour les étudiant.e.s du PCJI, lequel se rencontre sur une base trimestrielle. Découvrez la procédure et les délais applicables pour demander du financement au Partenariat.

Félicitations aux récipiendaires!

All Posts By

Melanie

Student Projects: Funding Available

By | Funding Opportunities, News

Student training is important for the Canadian Partnership for International Justice (CPIJ). This is why CPIJ notably funds students to take part each year in the Assembly of State Parties to the International Criminal Court, the Canadian Council on International Law’s Annual Conference, the ICC Moot Court Competition, and many other educational activities and events.

CPIJ encourages student initiatives and may support them financially. Students may apply to CPIJ to, for example, take part in a summer school, participate in a law-related competition, attend a conference or be involved in any other professional activity related to CPIJ’s mandate. The students selected for funding then become members of CPIJ’s student group.

CPIJ adapts to the current situation caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Until travel restrictions are lifted, online activities taking place outside the student’s home institution will be eligible to receive funding.

Admissibility requirements

A request is prepared by the student. To be presented to the Scholarship and Student Funding Committee for its consideration, the following conditions of admissibility must be met:

  • The request is presented by a student in international law or in a field related to CPIJ’s Research Program;
  • The request is sufficiently documented to allow the Scholarship and Student Funding Committee to appreciate its nature and importance for the student;
  • The request must include a detailed project plan and, if possible, the event’s agenda, registration confirmation, and an estimate of the admissible expenses;
  • The request must explain: the student’s link to CPIJ; the link between the project and CPIJ’s Research Program; the nature of the project and the expected learning outcomes; the relevance of the project with respect to the student’s development and goals; and the amount and purpose of any funding previously received from CPIJ.

Funding requirements

Those students selected for funding must comply with the following requirements:

  • The student must provide consent, unless an exception is justified, for CPIJ’s use and dissemination of the student’s texts, pictures and other outcomes of the project, with acknowledgement.
  • The student must respect the rules and regulations of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), CPIJ’s funding organization. For example, these rules do not permit funded individuals to be compensated for blogposts or other forms of publication.
  • The student will acknowledge CPIJ and SSHRC’s financial support in blogposts and other relevant fora.
  • The student must write a minimum of one 1000 to 1500-word blogpost, which will be published on any of the following platforms, at the choice of the student: Quid JustitiæIntLawGrrlsJustice in Conflict or the Philip Kirsch Institute’s Global Justice Journal. The blogpost shall comply with the rules related to the chosen platform. The post shall be written before, during, or within a reasonable time after, the project completion.

The following expenses are admissible:[1]

  • Registration fees to attend the online activity.

Regarding online summer schools, please note that tuition fees specifically related to earning academic credits are not eligible.

 Selection criteria

In choosing which projects to fund, the Scholarship and Student Funding Committee will consider the:

  • Link between the project and CPIJ’s Research Program;
  • Nature of the project and the expected learning outcome;
  • Relevance of the project with respect to the student’s training development and goals;
  • Link between the student(s) and CPIJ; and
  • Amount and purpose of any funding previously asked for and received from CPIJ.

How to apply?

To request funding, students shall fill the following form.

The Scholarship and Student Funding Committee meets four times per year to review and select projects for funding. The committee meets on:

  • November 1st;
  • February 1st;
  • May 1st*;
  • August 1st.

*The deadline for the spring 2020 has been moved to May 20, 2020.

Results are announced within one month following the Committee’s meeting. It is possible to submit a request at any moment throughout the year, but applicants should have these dates in mind to know the processing time of their request.

If funding is granted, the Partnership will provide the approved funding once the student is confirmed as attending the event (a registration confirmation can be required) and after ensuring that the expenses claimed are admissible. The Committee may approve the full, or a portion, of the amount requested. The approved amount may be paid in full or in instalments.

[1] An expense is admissible when it complies with the administrative requirements of the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and of CPIJ’s host institution, Université Laval (www.sf.ulaval.ca). CPIJ could refuse to reimburse an expense that is not admissible or that subsequently becomes inadmissible after CPIJ initially accepted to fund the project. It is the student’s responsibility to verify the admissibility of the expenses. It is strongly encouraged to have all planned expenses pre-approved by CPIJ. Additional information can be provided on demand.

19th Assembly of State Parties to the International Criminal Court: Call for applications

By | News, Student News, Upcoming Events

Each year between 2016 and 2021, the Canadian Partnership for International Justice (CPIJ) sets up and funds a delegation of Canadian students, headed by academics and practitioners from various academic institutions and NGOs, to attend the Assembly of States Parties (ASP) to the International Criminal Court (ICC). This major event takes place in The Hague or in New York at the end of each year.

Through this activity, CPIJ trains a cohort of students who are educated, engaged and networked in international and transnational law. The Partnership also aims at training and educating diverse Canadian audiences about the challenges, pitfalls and potential of the system of international justice, and about the priorities to improve the system. Through its action, CPIJ also enhances Canada’s role as a global leader in the fight against impunity.

The 19th ICC ASP will take place from 7 to 17 December 2020. The training of the delegation for this ASP will be spread out throughout the year until the event. The recruited students may have to:

  • report on the ASP, its side-events and on Canada’s participation as a State Party with respect to various themes (such as sexual and gender-based crimes, complementarity, cooperation, elections, budget, etc.);
  • tweet and live tweet;
  • organize conferences or events at their institution;
  • write short papers and blog posts;
  • support the Partnership’s partners in implementing their ASP programs;
  • connect with professionals working in international criminal law;
  • visit relevant international institutions.

Applications for the 19th ASP are accepted until September 1, 2020.

 

Conditions

  • Availability between now and the ASP in December to prepare the mission;
  • Availability to attend the ASP;
  • Availability to report on the ASP before, during and after the ASP;
  • Being able to get a visa for and to fly to the United States before the ASP.

The ASP is a very demanding activity. Members of the delegation are requested to work long hours throughout the day. It is strongly recommended that students avoid other kinds of deadlines during or shortly after the ASP.

 

Evaluation criteria

  • Cycle of studies: priority is given to master or higher degree;
  • Link between the applicant and a team member or organization involved in the Partnership;
  • Link between the ASP/ICC and the field of study, the professional goals and the other academic/scientific activities of the applicant;
  • Availability to prepare the mission, to attend the ASP and to report on it thereafter;
  • Fluency and good writing command in English or French (bilingualism an asset);
  • Priority is given to applicants who have never received funding from the Partnership.

 

How to apply

Your application must include:

  • Your resume;
  • Transcripts;
  • A copyof your passport ;
  • A blog post or other legal dissertation of at least 1000 words in English or French;
  • A motivation letter explaining how your application meets the evaluation criteria. You are strongly invited to write few paragraphs of your motivation letter in French if your application is in English and vice-versa.

Please upload your application and fill in the application form below before September 1, 2020.

 

For further information, write to:

Érick Sullivan/Catherine Savard
Co-coordinators of the Canadian Partnership for International Justice
internationaljustice.sshrc@gmail.com

2020 International Justice and Victims’ Rights Summer School

By | News, Upcoming Events

June 1 to 6, 2020

What? The International Justice and Victims’ Rights summer school will bring together internationally renowned experts, and human rights organizations in order to discuss and reflect on issues surrounding victims’ rights and international justice.

This course serves to train and engage students and professionals in the areas of law, criminology, and related disciplines in key issues regarding the rights of victims of crime and abuse of power.

Topics include reparation of victims of crimes against humanity, addressing the needs of victims of sexual violence in the courts, how courts handle victims who at the same time are perpetrators, as well as the place of victims in transitional justice.

For whom? The course is intended for graduate students and for interested professionals, including lawyers working in the field of international criminal law.

By whom? Course leader: Jo-Anne Wemmers (Université de Montréal). Lectures by: Fannie Lafontaine (Université Laval), Miriam Cohen (Université de Montréal), Isabelle Daignault (Université de Montréal), Myriam Denov (McGill University), Mark A. Drumbl (Washington and Lee University), Mylène Jaccoud (Université de Montréal), Amissi Manirabona (Université de Montréal), et Valerie Oosterveld (Western University).

Students who will be credited are invited to attend to a welcome session on May 29, 2020.

Language
The school is bilingual (French-English). Students are expected to be fluent in French or English and to have at least a passive understanding of the other language. Students may submit their work in French or English.

Registration
Credited students will be able to register starting March 9, 2020. Other participants can register as of now.

Registration Fees

• Government and business employees: CA $ 1,200
• General public (employees, retirees, self-employed): CA $ 1,000• NPO and NGO: CA $ 500
• Uncredited or outside Quebec students: CA $ 475
• Daily rates: CA $ 350

(Rates may change)

CPIJ is offering 3 scholarships of $ 2,000 each to a graduate student from an affiliated university to attend this school. See here for more information.

Contact: ismehen.melouka@umontreal.ca

For more information about the course as well as details about how to register: https://cerium.umontreal.ca/en/programs-of-study/

Looking forward to seeing you at the Université de Montréal in June 2020!

Prof. Joanna Harrington wins national award for publication on the UN Security Council

By | News

By: University of Alberta Faculty of Law

Professor Joanna Harrington has won a national award for a scholarly paper about reforming the way the UN Security Council makes decisions.

The first Scholarly Paper Award from the Canadian Council on International Law celebrates her paper, “The Working Methods of The United Nations Security Council: Maintaining The Implementation of Change.”

Drawing on archival records and diplomatic papers, Harrington’s paper examines the working methods of the United Nations Security Council, the world’s most powerful intergovernmental body.

The paper’s position is to incorporate global administrative law principles of transparency, consultation and engagement, and executive accountability into the practices of a highly political institution. Harrington also argues for the principle of conflict prevention to serve as an additional guidepost, given the Council’s role in maintaining international peace and security.

The selection committee called the paper an ideal recipient of this new award because “it constituted a systematic and careful scholarly inquiry into a doctrinal area, relying on primary research to offer new insights into the conduct of an international organization.”

Asked about the inspiration for the paper, Harrington explained that, “oddly enough, it was a term of service as an associate dean that led to an interest in governance and the process for making decisions.”

“While the Security Council attracts a lot of legal analysis on the substance of its decisions, there was little written on how its procedures have evolved to become more transparent and consultative vis-à-vis both non-governmental actors and the wider UN membership,” she said.

Having served as a lawyer-diplomat for Canada at the United Nations, Harrington was also familiar with some of the sources for finding the material she drew upon for her research. 

Given her interests in human rights and international criminal law, her research also touched upon the use of codes of conduct to limit the exercise of the veto when there are credible allegations of acts of genocide and crimes against humanity. It also covered the need to improve the selection process for the UN Secretary-General, with the past “She for SG” campaign having focused attention on the fact that no woman has ever served in the most senior UN post.

Harrington’s article was published in the International & Comparative Law Quarterly, a leading international law journal, and has already attracted citation in a leading textbook on international institutional law

Created in 1972, the Canadian Council on International Law (CCIL) is a leading national non-profit association bringing together academics, government lawyers, and lawyers in private practice working in the various fields of both private and public international law.

The award was announced during the CCIL’s annual conference in Ottawa, on October 24.

The Partnership funds 4 student projects

By | News, Press Releases

June 2019 – This spring, the Canadian Partnership for International Justice (CPIJ) launched its new funding program for student projects. This program aims to encourage and support students in their projects related to CPIJ’s research program.

Several requests were received for the 2019 spring trimester. While thanking all applicants, CPIJ is glad to disclose the identity of recipients:

  • Azé Kerté Amoulgam, doctoral student in law at Université Laval: 1000$ to realize a 6-month internship at the International Criminal Court’s Office of Public Counsel for the Defence, in the Hague (the Netherlands);
  • Jeremy Pizzi, baccalaureate student at McGill University: 1000$ to complete a 15-week internship at International Criminal Court’s Trial Chambers section, in the Hague (Netherlands);
  • Sarah Douglas and Sophie Gagné, respectively doctoral student at Dalhousie University and master’s student at Université Laval: 250$ each to participate in the Reflections on Rwanda educational program on genocide, organized by SHOUT Canada from 17 May to 1st June 2019.

Applications were analyzed by CPIJ’s Committee Scholarship and Student Funding Committee, which meets on a quaterly basis. Find out the procedure and applicable delays to request CPIJ funding.

Congratulations to the recipients!